Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys! This is my first post after lurking for a while.

I am looking for an ice machine for my shop. I have seen plenty of you guys talk about working on them and figured somebody here would point me in the right direction or have some experience with this.

First off, I am a carpenter and have a VERY limited experience working with plumbing, ice, etc. etc.

Here is my situation -
-We work outdoors and have a pretty hot climate so we need a lot of ice (West Texas)
-We buy a $4 bag of ice at least 120 days a year ($480)
-I would like to find an ice machine to keep at my shop for around $1,000
-For 3 of the months that we would be relying on the ice machine the max temp will be around 80* in my shop (shop is insulated but not cooled)

I have looked at a million different ice machines and Im still not sure whats what. I am very diligent about comparing products when making a big purchase but the ice machine game has my all confused. It doesnt help that NONE of them are geared or marketed towards my application.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer!!!

Jeff

·
The Dude
2,019 Posts
Ice vending machines. Around here I get 20 lb of ice for $2 - or buy 10lb bags for $2+

A friend of mine has 2 of them at his shop. I doubt he saves anything by the time you factor in utilities and equipment maintenance - probably pays more, and then there's the hassle when they go down - and they have. Those are in an office, but it's mostly for storage, so the A/C stays off. I think that contributes to them going down.

He's got probably around 20 guys, 2-3 roofing crews going. The cooler runs out of ice somewhat regularly, it melts in the cheap coolers so they NEED ice - sometimes multiple times / day so a runner has to go alllll the way back to the shop ...