Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
544 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When I bid work, and the HO asks for a textured lid I price much higher than a smooth finish. Reason being is it's very hard to patch in a texture if something was to ever happen down the road. Anyone else do the same? I'm not a finisher by trade, but im a hanger, and my finisher buddies gave me this advice

·
Contractor of the Month
26,075 Posts
When I bid work, and the HO asks for a textured lid I price much higher than a smooth finish. Reason being is it's very hard to patch in a texture if something was to ever happen down the road. Anyone else do the same? I'm not a finisher by trade, but im a hanger, and my finisher buddies gave me this advice
no...

·
Registered
2,572 Posts
Depends on what part of the country you're in.

In midwest, texture is cheaper. I've bid jobs on the east coast and got charged more for a textured finish.

·
Registered
488 Posts
In Fla. the price for smooth is higher. Because a smooth requires a lot better quality of finish. Texture will hide a bad mud job.

·
Home Repairs
291 Posts

That is open to debate. I would much rather do a texture repair in a lot of cases. Sunlight or artificial light can expose any minor defect in workmanship on slick walls and ceilings. Textured surfaces often break up light that can expose minor flaws. I take pride in my work, but still catch minor things when I am finished. I know what will paint well and what will not.

I charge extra for texture on new work because it requires more materials and labor. Not because it is harder to repair.

·
Registered
468 Posts