like elasomeric. I don't thinkk it will work, especially since I was ripped
off by a supposed contractor last year. I hate to spend the money on a
new roof, but it is may be the best thing. Is there any benefit to the
waterproofing products?

thanks for any advice, kathy

·
Registered
8,573 Posts
I am a roofer but not a tile expert. I know I have seen some products that can be applied over the tile to basically recover the roof. SPF may be one of them. Because we don;t do much tile I never paid much attention to the coatings. I'll look around my office and see if I can dig something up.

U

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Grumpy said:
I am a roofer but not a tile expert. I know I have seen some products that can be applied over the tile to basically recover the roof. SPF may be one of them. Because we don;t do much tile I never paid much attention to the coatings. I'll look around my office and see if I can dig something up.
Thank you so much.... I read the advise on reliableamerican.com on
choosing contractors. It eas very helpful, especially since I received a quate on a new tile foor, one for $7700 and one for $6400. The first one wanted
3.00 a linear foot for any wood over 100 feet. The second asked for $2.00

·
Registered
8,573 Posts
Just remember price isn't always the deciding factor! Someone once told me when choosing a contractor you have 3 things to choose from but in the end you can only choose two. Which one will it be? Quality, Service, or Price.

I haven't found that literature yet... Still looking.

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
I have rennovated quite a few of these homes although most were quite a bit older. You have to make a number of decisions. If you are looking for the cheapest way out, re-roof but pay attention to the architecture as this has a direct correlation to the value (a metal roof looks funny on a mediterranean home).