Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an (AS) degree in building construction. I am just a little hung up on the experience part of getting my GC license. My father and I worked together to pay the bills when I was younger. I my father had a GC license, but I never resaved compensation for my work. my father passed away when I was 17. I am now 21. I have the experience, with no evidence. Is there any way that I can make my own renovation company (following the guidelines of what doesn't need licensing) to get experience qualifications for GC license?
please Help!

·
Registered
10 Posts
no evidence

Don't do work on your own without a licence, I'm not sure what the rules are where your at, but in Arizona if you cant prove your work experiences for a GC licence, they will give you a remodeling licence for a lot less experience. now that limits the jobs you can do and the dollor amounts, but in a "couple of years" with alot more documented experience you can
reaplly for your GC licence.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
My business is legal here in Florida. You do not need license for some things. Thanks for your advice. I am going to see if they give a remodeling license here in Florida too.
Thanks Henry:thumbsup:

Does not need a license

Install a driveway or install pavers/tile walkways regardless of compensation.
Install awnings that do not become a fixed part of the structure regardless of compensation.
Add a water filter onto a faucet regardless of compensation.
Insert a plug-in A/C window unit regardless of compensation.
Change an A/C filter or cleaning ducts that do not require removal of the air grills regardless of compensation.
Clean swimming pools.
Install an above-ground pool regardless of compensation.