Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8,606 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've heard a lot of different things about how business has been this year. Some people have been doing better than last year and some worse.

How has business been for your company? Have you done anything different this year compared to last? (List your industry as well)

Nathan

·
Flooring Guru
2,794 Posts
I work in the flooring industry in Anchorage, AK. Business has been spectacular. Partly because I am more experianced and skilled, also because there are lots of rich folk around here, and they are major buyers. Plus when things are down in the lower 48, it tends to be great up here. I have made about an additional 10,000 a year, than I did in Oregon.

·
Registered
8,573 Posts
We typically have one full time roofing crew and some part time subs doing gutters and siding.

For the last month we have had 3 full time roofing crews, and we have a month of work on the schedule. We also still have our part time subs doing siding and gutters.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Business in slow but a learning process for i just started a general contracting company with very little to no capital and not as detailed planning as it should of been. This year I plan on setting stronger values to make this company profitable. You can do anything if you put your mind to it and with a little help from others such as this bulletin board for example. Never underestimate your skills and values skills of those aready in business. I have a family as well and they support me 100% to support and provide but they help as well to make things work. Never use money as an excuse for anything, as they say its the root of all evil, for not everyone became rich and successful with pockets full of cash.

:) Kenny-26-IL

·
Registered
8,606 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
BuildALot said: