Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm completely new to the construction business and trying to learn right / wrongs as I hear different opinions from people around me.

What are some standard approaches to roof leak when dealing with flat metal & concrete roof?

Unlike shingle roofs (mostly in residential buildings), I don't see any obvious way to nail & install tarps & weather guards on metal / concrete roof (mostly in commercial buildings).

Does it make sense to tape & clip tarps on flat metal / concrete roof as shown below? (especially considering thermal expansion & storms in the south?)

I googled "metal roof tarp" but couldn't find anything specific to flat metal roof, I wonder if using tarp is not even a thing for flat metal / concrete roof at all. (for example, would using a sealant be far more efficient way than placing tarps?)

Cloud Sky Blue Azure Water

Thanks.

·
Registered
FL CBC / SC RBC / SC RBI
317 Posts
This is not one size fits all issue. There are too many variables to consider to give a reasonable answer. How much damage is there. How big is the leak. How many leaks are there. How long do you need to protect the structure and what are the environmental conditions to be considered. Sometimes it will be a caulking gun, sometimes a bucket of flex seal, sometimes a small tarping in target areas, sometimes a full tarp covering is needed. Way too many options for such a simplistic scenario being described.

·
Goin' Down in Flames....
Highwayman
8,301 Posts