Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7,181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

I would appreciate any help you guys can give me for getting into the HVAC trade. I am actually a roofer and a partner in a roofing company but I have always had a high interest in HVAC. I have even posted in the roofing section here before. I am not even 25 yet but have been very successful in the company I work for and am a very quick learner that I was able to move up in the company I work for. Although I do more of the business aspect of it now, I spent most of the years doing the hard labor and occasionally I still do. Problem is, I don't know how much longer I want to be involved with this trade and I want to be able to pass something down to the children when the time comes. Also, I dont want to have to put shingles on when im 40 incase something happens where the situation arises.

I guess I just want to know how to get started and if the money is in it like their is roofing. Like I said, I know nothing about the trade so I will appreciate all and any thoughts you give me about the trade.

Thanks.

·
I love refrigeration
27 Posts
Hola Amigo

If you live in michigan, think about doing something else - Medical Related.
There are a million contractors, 100 million licensed, and about a billion side jobers.
The money is there 4 months out of the year, for the other 8 you may need to resort to fetching shopping carts.

In all get into the union - especially if you are new to the game.

P.S.
Selling my vac pump and recovery machine.
Peace out!!

·
Banned
846 Posts
I'm going to college for 4 years to learn HVAC. It's a Bachelor of Science in HVAC and Appliance Repair. They also have a 2 year program if you just want an associates degree.

·
Banned
846 Posts
***** night courses and college, just *****ing jump in. Grab your *****ing sack and move forward.