Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a HVAC / mechanical contractor in real life, but I have been fiddling with this porch roof on the back of my house for 20 years now. It is a fairly shallow pitch (I would guess about 3 in 12) roof.

the porch roof had older 3-tabs on it when I bought the place but when I expanded the carport to which the porch connects on one side I stripped, felted and re applied new 3-tabs. At it's higher side the porch roof blends into the 12 in 12 pitch of the back roof of the house which was also re-done in 3-tab.

The porch roof seems to have leaked ever since I started working on it, but it may have leaked before - it's just been too long to remember. At one point I stripped it and applied rolled roofing with the 25% overlaps sealed with roof coating and closely nailed.

My actual question comes from the fact that when we do commercial work I see what seems to be a black rubber roof system with glued seams. We have also had to re-flash a few A/C units with white rolled rubber material and glue too. Both seem like a real water-tight solution.

So I have been thinking about using something like that to repair my porch roof. What do you all suggest? Would that rubber stuff be a good solution?

Man I just want to have a BBQ when it rains and drink beer in peace! <g>

Thanks!

·
Registered
8,573 Posts
If you've been messin with the roof for 20 years it's time to call a roofer to fix it once and for all.

My best advice is when ever you are having roof problems to hire a professional roofer to diagnose and repair the problem. Roofing is dangerous business, and is not as easy as it looks. Your roof protects your entire house and everything in it.