Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a residential and commercial contractor that decided to hang it all up and go back to school to finish my BA in Const. Eng. I was trying to get super jobs with comm companies and felt a lack of education was holding me back. Do large comm companies see value in masters degrees?

·
Pompass Ass
2,090 Posts
I am a residential and commercial contractor that decided to hang it all up and go back to school to finish my BA in Const. Eng. I was trying to get super jobs with comm companies and felt a lack of education was holding me back. Do large comm companies see value in masters degrees?
The way things are going I doubt you will have much a chance at any decent job without a college degree.

There is a young woman that work's fork a client of mine and she has an MBA from UF, she must be pretty smart, and it impressed me, so I would think a masters would be impressive to propsective employers.

I don't have a degree and am now too busy to get one, but it couldn't hurt to get all the education, degrees, certifications and licenses you can.

·
Registered
6,102 Posts
I have a brother in law who after high school started working for a software company. After 10 yrs, he was the president. He just retired, at 44, a millionare.

Bottom line is - it's all up to the individual. Education is great, but it won't guarantee success. And the flip side - lack of an education doesn't necessarily hold you back.

·
Pompass Ass
2,090 Posts
I have a brother in law who after high school started working for a software company. After 10 yrs, he was the president. He just retired, at 44, a millionare.

Bottom line is - it's all up to the individual. Education is great, but it won't guarantee success. And the flip side - lack of an education doesn't necessarily hold you back.