Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I am a painting contractor for 20 years now, in PA. I have always used MAB paints but, I have a new customer concerned about costs, customer is wanting int/ext done, (I can't say I really blame considering how prices are going up) and am wondering exactly how good is Olympic paints (Interior/Exterior)? Or would it be classified like Behr paints, which I have found to be horrible.

Thanks for the help!!

·
Registered
1,606 Posts
I used Olympic overcoat in the 70's..and thought it was pretty good stuff.

To be honest, I guess I didn't even realize they were still around.

·
Handle It!
9,588 Posts
Hi,

I am a painting contractor for 20 years now, in PA. I have always used MAB paints but, I have a new customer concerned about costs, customer is wanting int/ext done, (I can't say I really blame considering how prices are going up) and am wondering exactly how good is Olympic paints (Interior/Exterior)? Or would it be classified like Behr paints, which I have found to be horrible.

Thanks for the help!!
You use MAB, contractor grade paint, because of marketing. The M.A.Bruder Corp./ Building is located next to the Home Depot on Route 320 in Marple, PA. It is just because you were told "this is what Philadelphia paints with". So you do.

It is a decent paint. Olympic is equivalent to MAB.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MAB_Paints

·
...jammin
5,234 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
I think it's made by PPG if that makes you feel better. Haven't used the stuff myself but I see a lot of cans of it bought by HO's on shelves in garages.

Can tell you I wasn't impressed with the Valspar line. It's too thick and likes to sag out.

·
Registered
330 Posts