Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am an 24 year old male Australian citizen and have just recently finished an apprenticeship in plumbing and have been going to TAFE (tertiary study) and studying part time as well as working full time for the past four years. Upon completion of my study/apprenticeship i received a certificate III in plumbing. I have been working in the plumbing industry for the past five years and am very familar with the plumbung products/fiitings/practices used in the us. i have saved up a rather large amount of money to make the move overseas to the US, where i would like to temporarily establish myself and make a living working in the feild of plumbing. i lived and worked in the US for roughly 6 months on a J1 visa in colorado up in the ski feilds in 2004/2005. I have read and studied the requirments outlined in applying for the different types of US VISA’s on the US immigration websites. However i am still unsure if i qualify for, if any, one of these visa. If anyone could assist me in this matter in any way and provided as much informatioin as possible i would be very gratefull for the advise given.

Regards

·
Registered
759 Posts
I can't help with the VISA. But work here is very slow. There is a good chance you will not be able to find work here unless you have something lined up already.

·
Registered
2,836 Posts
Without any research (off the top of my head), I think you'll have to spend a lot of money to buy a business, etc.-basically buying a place here.

A much easier way to do it is to get married. Your knowledge of plumbing should be an asset in this field.

We now offer same sex marriages as well and if you swing this way, you may be the first test of this type of marriage on immigration status.

Otherwise, you're limited to the gray/black market, then wait for an amnesty to make it legal.