Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I do alot of handyman work in my area so I do a little of everything. I got a call this week from a lady that a few years ago had texture walls and ceiling done in her family room. It is 18 x 20 with 14' ceiling. well she also has a fireplace in this room. Her complaint is during the winter when they use the fire place soot and ash collect on the texure all over and it is a nightmare to get rid of the dirt. She now want to have the texure removed. I have never done it before, I am thinking about just to a rip out of the old drywall and replace that or should I tell her to have it skimcoated with plaster.. Or does someone else have an better idea. Or better yet just pass on this job.! :)

thanks
Earl
and yes my name is earl !

·
Registered
8 Posts
There are methods to do the job, but it really isn't worth it.

Her fireplace has a problem, either subcontract it or have her referred to someone who does the work.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
fire place is ok.

Ok I talked her in to having her fireplace inspected, they came out and checked it out. After talking to her a bit more it seems that when ever they open the doors to the fire place a little ash is "poofed" in to the room or when they clean it out ash seems to make a mess of things. Also regular household dust just seems to settle on the grooves of the wall and ceiling.
So here is what I think her options are:
1. Sand down the whole room... (YUCK I do not want to do this and will turn this down.)
2. Tear out all drywall and redo (lots of $$ on her part)
3. hang 1/4 over the exsiting wall and ceiling (prob. would look like doodoo)
4. have the entire area plastered ( wich means She calls some one else and they get the job. so I am out $$)
anyone have a better idea

I HATE texured walls now. I am so glad I don't have them in my house.

·
Registered
90 Posts