Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Been looking round here for a while mainly for info on drywall but.....

I'm a Painter & decorator in England. Not a lot of people spray over here but we try to use our airless as much as possible. When I was at college my tutor spent some time in the US and said it's mostly spray, and you tend to finish walls, mask them and then spray the ceilings. I've been trying to get this method right for a long time now. The problem I always have is the paint on the walls peels at least a little bit then I have to brush the ceiling lines anyway. I've tried various tapes and the only ones that don't pull paint off don't stick well enough to spray. Tried various paints, dilutions etc with no luck.

I've currently given up with it and spray ceilings, cut in ceiling lines with brush down 5-6" then spray up to that.

The only thing I can think is either your paints stick better than ours or its something to do with drywall instead of plaster.

Any help appreciated. Love spraying so I'd like to learn how to completely spray without getting the brushes out :)

Thanks

·
Registered
1,185 Posts
Spray the ceiling not being too concerned with how much overspray goes down the walls. Use a 3M masker with 12" paper or plastic and tape the ceiling then spray the walls. Tape pulling off some ceiling paint might happen, but usually that's with enamels, not flat paints. Not rushing to tape the ceiling and letting the thicker enamel get good and dry before taping is about all you can do to prevent tape pulling up the ceiling paint. This is not a problem using flat paints. You also may want to shop for a tape that isn't as sticky as others. Blue or green safe release tape isn't as sticky as regular masking tape. I find that white safe "gentle release" tape isn't sticky enough.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·