Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,249 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have often wondered how my lumber and vinyl salesmen are paid. I assume its usually salary plus commission. Any idea as to what percent of the sale? I thought it might be a bit rude to ask them personally.

·
Project Manager
2,642 Posts
I know my lumber guy makes a solid salary and then I want to say 1% commission - through the grapevine, so to speak.

My window/siding and sometimes roofing guy has a trivial salary then a higher commission....or so I am told.

...this post was of no help....:laughing::laughing:

·
Premium Member
Retired deck builder
6,357 Posts
I worked as a lumber salesman for about a year in 05', got paid straight salary no commission. Occasionally the boss would give bonus's of .10 lf to move certain kinds of wood.

·
Registered
56 Posts
I think my lumber rep gets salary, plus 10% bonus for every order he screws up. :mad: Another 10% bonus for every unusable peice of crap board that he sends me, :furious: and another 5% for every item that I order that he doesn't write down and put on my delivery ticket. :censored:

·
Jeff
1,485 Posts
I think my lumber rep gets salary, plus 10% bonus for every order he screws up. :mad: Another 10% bonus for every unusable peice of crap board that he sends me, :furious: and another 5% for every item that I order that he doesn't write down and put on my delivery ticket. :censored:
You know that makes some sense. For me though i can say it all falls on the "yardtards" putting the order together. I think we got 4 deliveries one day 3 of which were for wrong or forgotten mats.

·
Registered
132 Posts
To they tell you how to run your project, what materials you should be using, what you should be doing, and generally act like they were smoking meth and crack in the can?

Small salary and big commish.