Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I did a search and found a couple of threads about this but no answers for my situation. Let me preface this by saying I have zero experience with tiling a shower, copper pan or no. :/

I've got a shower with a copper pan and I need to tile it. The plumber sold me on the copper - apparently it's pretty common here in New England. I'm pretty confident it's installed properly, I've worked with this guy quite a bit and he does good work.

I've goggled it with confusing results. Looks like I need to put down a concrete material, wight he proper slope and then tile right on that. My question is: what material do I use? I read everything from 'use straight concrete' 'use portland cement with no sand' 'buy a premix'... common sense tells me straight concrete on copper has huge potential for disaster.

Is the premix stuff any good, if so, what product should I use?

Here are a couple of pictures:

This is a good shot of the pan just after installation:

This one is what it looks like now (sorry, I know it's a crummy pic.)

·
Registered
2,529 Posts
It's the same as a poly pan liner, just a better mouse trap. Pre-slope and tile is the same as a poly liner. If you don't know, don't touch it with a ten foot pole. There is a lot of liability in tile shower work.

ETA: there is a lot of waterproofing left to do there and I'd check that the backer install didn't penetrate your liner.

·
Contractor of the Month
26,075 Posts
Is this your own shower or a client's?

·
Registered
3,439 Posts
The cement board fastened to the curb is nice... Moisture will rust out those fasteners and rot the curb framing in about 5 years or so..
I agree that curb should be concrete. You need to install a mud bed with a slope. I would let a pro do it if you've never done it.

·
Registered
6,819 Posts