Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just starting out in business and Iwant to build a spec. I know their are options but what is the best way to get the capitol to do your first spec? The bank won,t lend to a first timer.

·
Banned
14,078 Posts
No credit, no cash = OPM - other people's money. Other people's money doesn't come cheap. You need either a partner to risk the money and take 1/2 profit or loss, or a hard money lender to take interest and points on a interest only short term loan. HML are used all the time on rehabs by investors, I don't know if they would get involved with spec house. They take the house as collateral @70% of value, I have no idea how they could protect themselves on a spec house.

Do you know any rich people who would invest in your personally?

You could try to get someone to invest in you, I still really don't know if the spec house would be too hard to overcome, but almost all successful real estate investors who buy fix and sell have a couple of millionaires in their back pockets. You could try doing what those people did to get started. Run an ad something like:

"Real Estate Investor/Builder With Proven Track Record Looking For Investors Who Want To Make 10-12% On Their Money Secured By A First Trust Deed" tell them you will pay them 10% with monthly payments for 100% financing or 12% Fee Simple, meaning you will pay them back when the house sells.

If you had a really great set of plans and a really great piece of property and could "sell" others on it and yourself...

·
Registered
386 Posts
Thats a fact Mr. Finley.