Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
That guy
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a lot of drywall experience of very limited scope. I have never encountered this before, but I'm sure some of you have many times. The left side of the image is hardibacker for a tile shower surround. The right side is green board (the width of a stud). I'm guessing I just give it a corner bead with virtually no height to fill in on the tile side?

ForumRunner_20140322_095759.jpg

·
That guy
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Oops, wrong button. Also this mobile app apparently doesn't understand EXIF tags for image rotation. Sorry.

Other question: do I just tape the upper corner the same as I would any other? Except not worry about finish quality on the tile side.

ForumRunner_20140322_100626.jpg

Thanks!

·
Home Repairs
291 Posts
Oops, wrong button. Also this mobile app apparently doesn't understand EXIF tags for image rotation. Sorry.

Other question: do I just tape the upper corner the same as I would any other? Except not worry about finish quality on the tile side.

View attachment 109890

Thanks!

You could use some L-Bead to give it a uniform edge. I have in situations like this. I have also finished up to the tile and caulked. (looked ghetto) but thats what the owner wanted.

·
Registered
11,370 Posts
What's the second picture? Orientation/location? Confusing pics you have there.

As for the first pic...assuming it's outside the wet area (and plumb), bed some reinforced corner onto it (I wouldn't nail the bead, since it pushes out the edge). Then add a schluter edge and tile into it. Then mud to the outer wall side of it, then paint.

·
Talking Head
5,388 Posts
What MarkJames said. Cornerbead it as normal. Use thinset on the tile side and either put a Schluter profile or bullnose right to the corner. I prime and first coat these areas first whenever possible just to make things easier to clean up.

·
Registered