Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have started a Master Commercial Handyman business doing Renos,Repairs,Plumbing,Drywall,Painting etc. At this time I cant afford to advertise so how can I find out WHO and WHERE my Clients might be for this type of service?
Hope somebody out there can tell me how to get the ball rolling!

With Thanks Wayne at [email protected]

·
Registered
8,573 Posts
Telephone book...

Hello Ms. Receptionist, I was wondering if I could speak with whoever is in charge of facility maintenance at your office.

Hello Mr/Mrs. Facility Manager I wantred to introduce myself. I am a contractor in your area and I believe I can be of service to you.

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
I have dropped commercial altogether, everything is by commitee and quality means nothing. Prepare for many beatings. Commercial people have no values, they will show your proposal to competitors, anything to save a buck.
Wish you luck.

·
Registered
269 Posts
Welcome to the forum Wayne, doing only commercial work can be rough for sure, I do very little, except for repeat clients.

I've found that no advertising leaves only cold calls for business, tough sleddin for sure. Lots of luck. Grumpy seems to have the best suggestion thus far.

·
Commercial construction
606 Posts
wayne said:
...At this time I cant afford to advertise...
You better be able to afford anything you need. In business, you borrow the money when you need something. If you don't have the balls and the connections to do this, you won't last long.

As for the customers, you go out and get them. TODAY. You'll figure out who they are while you're out there. If you can't figure out who they are, or where they are, by yourself, then you're doomed.

Sorry to be so blunt, but that's the way it is for all of us.

·
Registered
10,471 Posts