Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, new to the forum!

I am new to the contractor world as the executive assistant/etc. office person. I've been here for a few months and have been left in charge of coming up with some marketing material. The idea for flyers and thank-you cards is on the table, and I've come up with several different designs. It may be an affordable way to market, but it still costs money. I've been reading the forums for several days now trying to figure out how to do this properly, and I'm not really sure where our company fits in.

We are a general contracting company that specializes in disaster restoration. Most of our jobs are water and mold remediation with the occasional remodel. The thing is, this trade is rather specific and doesn't have quite the clientele that most forum conversations are discussing. We rarely have repeat customers (how many people have multiple home disasters?) and it's not exactly something the average person really needs (like painting, flooring, etc.) so it's a little hard to market to. Being new to the industry, I have very little relevant experience and only really have the input of a consumer.

Sending thank-you cards is pretty straight forward, regardless of the trade. I've seen mixed opinions on whether or not to ask for reviews on the same card along with the thank you. What I've done in designing the card is to simply put 'Stay connected with us!' with urls and QR codes for Facebook and Yelp - just throwing it out there, not asking for reviews. The card has our logo and this short message:

"We recognize that your trust in us to perform work in your home is significant. Your confidence drives us to provide nothing but top quality service!

Of course we don't wish the burden of disaster on anyone... but should you ever be in need of our services, we are always here for you, day or night."