Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts
U

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I moved into a pretty old house that has phone jacks in every room, but only 2 of them work. Anybody know what I can do to get them to work? I've tried putting new phone jacks in, but they wouldn't work either, so I'm led to believe that I need to rewire them somehow. I just don't know where to begin and what exactly to do.

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
How old is the house? Are they the old 4 prong jacks?

·
Registered
8,573 Posts
Get a multi tester and see if they are getting any voltage. I'm no electrician but I've wired so many phone lines and computer cable I could probably get a job doing it in a minute.

If they are not getting voltage check the junction box. The wire may be broken in the wall somewhere if there is voltage in the basement.

U

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
kev

They are disconnected or cut somewhere. Trace by hand or use a multimeter to check resistance to locate.

O

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Communications/contractor

If Your Getting Dial Tone On Two Of The Locations Then Maybe Your Should Check The M.p.o.e Outside Your Home At Time Their Are Other Locations That Are Not Wired. Green And Red Are Your Tip And Ring Main Connections.

·
Registered
5 Posts
OPTIMIZED said:
If Your Getting Dial Tone On Two Of The Locations Then Maybe Your Should Check The M.p.o.e Outside Your Home At Time Their Are Other Locations That Are Not Wired. Green And Red Are Your Tip And Ring Main Connections.

Try running another phone wire (cat 3) from the demarc (network interface) to the last jack in the house if known , this will feed all the jacks from both ends so if the loop is somehow cut, all jacks for the most part will still work because they are being fed from both ends

·
DGR,IABD
9,683 Posts