Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I'm curious what residential construction is like in Houston, TX. I'm currently a project superintendent for a large commercial construction company and formerly a high-end custom home builder. I would of never made the switch to commercial if it weren't for my hometowns economic conditions and I have been doing commercial for the last 2 years and I'm finding that I miss building custom homes. From what I have read online it seems Houston's Residential market continues to stay strong and is the strongest in the US. Are there any Houston area contractors on here that can fill me in about: How busy you are? Do you think the strong market will continue? How do you manage working in the heat during the summer months? What you like and dislike about the area?Anything else I should know I'm considering a move and any information would be helpful!

·
Registered
8,240 Posts
is it that bad or is it crime
Too many people, too much traffic, too much crime. My brother lives in a nice middle income neighborhood, won't leave his garage door open or his doors unlocked while he is at home. Won't even answer the door at night without his sidearm ready. Not the kind of life I want to live. It got considerably worse after Katrina.

Best I can tell, there's a lot of work and plenty of people spending money, but I'll take country/small town living any day.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·