Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

Seeking advice on hiring QUALITY (honest and hardworking) employees.

I am fairly new to this field of work and have been hiring basic laborers with some success and some not so successful.

Question: What do you all look for when hiring a skilled employee, what personality traits, what questions do you ask, do you do reference check-ups, and where do you find your employees, any suggestions or advice would be helpful.?.

Thanks.

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
Red, This is one of the toughest areas of business and something that I have been doing for over 30 yrs. For me it is just a gut feeling and I still get fooled from time to time.
Things that I look for; A complete and well written resume gets an interview. Background checks are a must. The applicant is on time or ahead of schedule for the interview. Applicant shows up resonably dressed for the position, I don't expect a woodworker to show up in a 3 pc. Aramani suit but I do expect them to be bathed and in clean clothes. They should also be comfortable in their skin, no nervousness or skittery behavior and not too relaxed (no feet on my desk), allow a little latitude for people fresh out of trade school if it's only their first or second job interview, jittery, not feet on the desk. Most of these will exude confidence and that's not bad if you can harness it. (I just hired a 25 yr old guy that I am grooming to take over my marine business and may sell it to him in a few years).
From there you have to gauge the applicant to the position. If somebody doesn't have a killer personality but is going to be making cabinet doors all day it really doesn't make much difference. If a person may have contact with clients a positive outlook is something that will swing my vote.
I could write a book on this but just as important is......