Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Bird Killer
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I think I'm about to get a Hilti PD40, but before I plunk down the cash...

I've heard from just about everyone that has one of the good laser measurement devices, that they are worth the money, and will change the way you work. Anyone that have one regret it?

Any other models in the price range I should be looking at? On the one had a factor for me to consider, besides Hilti's EXCELLENT service, and reputation, and the fact that they will have the tool as belonging to me if someone steals it and it ever gets serviced... Is that I have a great relationship with my Hilti rep. I'm good friends with his son, so I get even better service than usual. I typically buy everything I can from him because of this...

I'm a trim carpenter, almost entirely remodel. Lots of stretching tapes over furniture, crown, etc. And I work alone.

And how dust resistant is the 40?

·
Contractor of the Month
26,075 Posts
I have had a PD40 for over a year IIRC. I love it, its on my belt at all times and has absorbed alot of concrete and drywall dust and still works great. Good battery life too.

I do miss not having the scope of the PD42. I think if I were to go back in time I'd either get the PD4 and save the cash or go all out and get the PD42.

·
Contractor of the Month
26,075 Posts
Yes,

I should have added the following:

PD40 isn't great outside because it lacks a scope. That may sound simple but it is a big short coming. I don't care about on board calculations all that much, I never need to figure out area. I rarely use the corner stick too, although I think its a cool feature.

PD4 is somewhat useless outside since its a shorter less powerful laser. I would have probably been just as happy with the cheaper smaller PD4 since I've only used mine outside for short distances (camera mounting and specing).