Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
198 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all! My names dan and I'm a carpenter working in New Zealand, I've been building since I was 15 on and off in the school holidays then went full time on my 16th birthday (now 24) and still going strong.. Im a residential foreman ATM working on heritage home and the tricky jobs which I enjoy. I also do a bit of timber flooring. IWouldn't mind getting into a bit of commercial foreman work this year just to expand the old work experience !!:)
On a personal level, I'm 24, got two kids and the soon to wife to go along with it.. And now a personal escape within the walls of this forum !!:)

·
Registered
797 Posts
Welcome to the boards. How's the progress in Christchurch? The place must be noisy with hammers and machines these days.

·
Registered
198 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys, I only moved to christchurch 7 months ago from Auckland. But what I'm seeing is that most of the people have had their insurance paid out and they've move on/ fixed their house, the other group of people are still fighting insurance companies for what their owed.. Eg my boss, his insurance company won't pay out for his place
In town they've demolished a lot of buildings and are prepping all the services in the ground for the new buildings.. So I would say it's busy but once the commercial building takes off it will be crazy busy

·
Registered
797 Posts
I used to live right next to Hagley Park and the Art Center. What a damn shame that fell in the Quake. I'll be interested to see how they rebuild it.

·
Registered
198 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Ah awesome! How did you enjoy christchurch? So are you a kiwi living in colorado? Yeah it's like the old cathedral getting destroyed.. They built a new one out of cardboard tubes.. Looks kinda cool ..

·
Registered
797 Posts