Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Commercial construction
606 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a general contractor. In my life I have hired, and been hired by, hundreds of small contractors, most of whom had fewer than 10 employees, and many of whom were “one man shows”. I have found that, almost without exception, these men and women are honest, ethical, reliable, and competent. They work long hard hours, many of which are unseen by their customers. They do difficult and dangerous work, at the expense of their own bodies, trading their health for their living.

When treated with respect, these contractors are generous with their time, generous with their knowledge and wisdom, and even generous with their labor.

Most of these people are passionate about the work that they do in their particular trade; constantly educating themselves on their own time to improve their abilities and to remain up to date on the latest materials and installation techniques.

They are a rough and tumble lot, and although they sometimes fight among themselves, they are dedicated to their customers and the good of the public, to a fault. They are part of a brotherhood that is the backbone of the construction industry in America.

If you have come here to ride on our backs, take away our liberty, rob us of our individuality, or enslave us in any way, don’t expect to get our cooperation, we will not be willing victims.

If you have come here to whine about your bad experience with inept and unreliable low ball bidders, don’t expect any sympathy from us, we do not feel your pain.

If you have come here to brag about your unethical business practices, don’t expect any applause, we will not celebrate your “triumphs”.