Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! I dont know how odd it would be to introduce myself, but I just thought it would be a good way to start things off. So with that said, my name is Phouvieng, I'm 19 years old and I'm from Rochester, NY. Anyways, I've been painting for about 4-5 years, started off an "under-study"; Job was going great for a couple years, but to make the story short, I eventually got screwed big time. So now I'm working as a "head painter" under a new contractor, I'm currently in the works of starting my own thing, and these are where my questions kick in..

My questions aren't anything too specific, I just wanted to see what some of you guys did differently and what some of you guys did the same. All the houses we do are rehabs, I pretty much dont touch anything until all the dywall/compounding is finished. This is my process..

1.) Fill all nail holes(painters putty '35' or '55', I have no idea what the number means, but it's on the can).
2.) Sand all baseboards, windows, and door casings.
3.) Caulk(DAP Latex) all baseboards, windows, and door casings.
4.) Prime(B-I-N shellac base) all baseboards, windows, and door casings.
5.)
- If on new drywall: Prime(BEHR New Drywall Primer) ceilings and walls.
- If on existing/painted wall: Prime(KILZ Latex Primer) ceilings and walls.
6.) Sand(100 grit) ceilings, walls, baseboards, windows, and door casings.
7.) First coat(BEHR Hi-Gloss Latex) Window and door casings.
3.) Sand(200 grit) Window and door casings.
4.) Second coat(BEHR Hi-Glass Latex + Floetrol) Window and door casings.
5.) First coat(BEHR Flat Latex) ceiling.
6.) Compound/Fix any spots in ceiling.
7.) Sand(200 grit) ceiling.
8.) Second coat(BEHR Flat Latex) ceiling.
9.) Cut and roll first coat(BEHR Eggshell Latex) Wall.
10.) Compound/Fix any spots in wall.
11.) Sand(200 grit) walls.