Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As you can tell from some of my previous posts I am a plumbing professional so I hope my flooring friends can help me with my dilemma.

I have a rental property that I attempted to install trafficmaster self stick Ceramica over soundly installed linoleum flooring. The linoleum surface is somewhat uneven in texture and therefore the self stick tile does not adhere very well. My friend who is a GC and has worked with the product before suggested I buy Roberts Vinyl Composition Tile Adhesive #2057 and apply it with a paint roller. Here are the steps I took.

1) Thoroughly cleaned the linoleum with TSP and let dry overnight.

2) Applied Roberts tile adhesive with paint roller and per instructions on can waited until adhesive did not transfer to finger which was about 30 minutes.

3) Applied self stick squares and thoroughly rolled flooring into glue.

The directions on the can says that the adhesive will remain tacky for 8-12 hours. It's been over 24 hours and the glue is still tacky as heck and worse yet, the tile can fairly easily be pulled up. What did I do wrong and what can I do to fix the problem? Thank you so much for all your input..

·
Flooring Installer
796 Posts
You probably put down too much adhesive with a roller and the adhesive needs to dry clear before the tile is installed. Putting the tile on wet adhesive, the adhesive may never dry.

·
Registered
1,751 Posts
What did you do wrong, two things- listened to a GC and a friend !
Where do I start ?
Tsp- good! Next step would have been an embossing leveler, (patch) specifically designed to bond thinly to and grout lines etc. To make the linoleum smooth on an even plane like flat glass.
The VCT adhesive is wrong, two different types of adhesive, one(VCT) is a latex, other on back of tile is a pressure sensitive(acrylic) the two don't mix.