Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. I need your help.

I am a property manager and I have a new contractor that has done some recent work for me. The quality of his work is excellent. I'm extremely impressed. His attention to detail is amazing. For example, he'll tell his guys to rehang doors several times until it's exactly perfect. He'll have his guys take down tile work and start all over if it doesn't perfectly line up. Basically, I love this guy.

I seriously want to go into business with this guy. I would provide the financing/admin and he could do the construction. But, there is a big problem. Although he's done this for about 5 years, he started out as a handyman and so he doesn't have any formal training. He lacks knowledge of the fundamentals. Things like when to use a vapor barrior. When to use blue board, green board, etc .

Can you guys suggest a course of training for him? I was intending to take some trade school classes. Do you think he should attend these classes? Or, should he apprentice at a larger company? (He has his own company right now and he does small renovations.)

What do you guys think?

·
Registered
4,099 Posts
For example, he'll tell his guys to rehang doors several times until it's exactly perfect. He'll have his guys take down tile work and start all over if it doesn't perfectly line up. Basically, I love this guy.

Perfection is great as an end result. Rehanging doors and resetting tile increases production time by at least 2x's. AKA twice the labor costs... very poor business model to invest in. Just my opinion though.

·
Registered
232 Posts
I agree with the rehanging and maybe over pursuit of perfection. However, I know I also had alot of trial and error in my path to production perfection as well!