Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone!

My names Kelly, I'm a Custom Painter with 12 years experience and a recently started business. I have had a lot of custom jobs, but now comes the heavy hitter, a 92 unit luxury town home complex (new construction) I am trying to write my bid (needs to be in Friday! ah!) via the blue prints they sent me. I am starting to understand the prints and I think I know how I will assess the costs. I have a silly newbie question though... am I to provide the paint and simply include the paint estimate into the bid? Or do I bid the job and get reimbursed for paint after completion?

Thanks for the much needed help :)

·
Super Moderator
24,787 Posts
Trick question......right????:whistling:laughing:

Do you have a spec book with the job?

TYpically you provide everything to complete the job.

All labor, materials & equipment.

Then wait to be paid, usually 45-90 days, less retainage.

So have the funds to bankroll the job.

Me thinks with your question you should pass on this one.:thumbsup:

Good luck.....

·
Drywall Slave
9,441 Posts
Most painters I know get half up! The paint Is included in their footage price.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Aha, I will do that. Thank you so much for the help. Its scary to me to write a bid so damn high, now add the piant... jesus pete... its going to be intimidating to hand in. Half up? I don't think I have the balls to do such a thing (besides the fact that 'Im a chick, lmao) I have savings for this. Wish me luck!
Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated! :)

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
BTW, anybody want to take a look at my lame bid sheet, tell me what I could add/take away I would be over the moon, [email protected] if you're interested in helping.
I really want this job!
:D

·
Registered
12,591 Posts