Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings!
Longtime lurker here. Finally decided to make my presence felt, bless you all with my company, and absorb all that is to be learned from you (mostly) fine contractors.
I know that everyone likes to know just who you are on this site so if you are so inclined, I will offer up my story.

Yes, I am a professional contractor. Certainly not to the scale that most of you are, but I do get paid for my services. My specialties are interior trim/finish, special projects, and outdoor structures/decks. Unlike most of you though, Contracting isn't my only gig.
I am also a Registered Respiratory Therapist and am employed by one of the best children's hospital in the nation. My unit's speciality/title is Complex Pulmonary/Cystic Fibrosis.
Rounding out the activities that take up my day...I am also a Property Manager/Landlord.
Quite the mix-up huh?
For now, the many jobs serve me well. I am only part-time at the hospital (by choice) which allows me to be picky about my contracting jobs while maintaining an income, retirement, insurance, etc. The hospital allows me to pickup extra shifts when contracting work is slow and to work my minimum hours when I am busy. This, however, doesn't allow me to fully focus on one area.....spreading my time over two different careers.
Unfortunately, the job at the hospital simply doesn't suit my long term goals. I adore my patients and feel that I do good work there, and I always give my best when working there, but it simply doesn't get my juices flowing like carpentry does. I have never sat awake in my bed anticipating the next days job at the hospital. Most of my contracting jobs leave me feeling excited.