Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I'm a new member and have been lurking for a few days. I am a painter and hope to become a contractor in the next few years.

My question is what is the best way to find paint contractors looking for workers in my area. Jobs are rarely listed in the local paper. How do you feel about people stopping by job sites with resumes? Also, what is a good way to find little side jobs?

I've really been enjoying reading the posts here. Forgive me for not being a full fledged contractor yet.

·
Registered
92 Posts
I've really been enjoying reading the posts here. Forgive me for not being a full fledged contractor yet.[/QUOTE]
You are forgiven. Read the past post on the engineer wanting to become a pianter if you want to know my advice on doing side jobs. Go to a paint store and ask Painters if they need help. Give them your "resume'" if you have one. Good luck

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the idea. I've tried just about everything else. Work is very seasonal here. Also, in my last job I purchased paint from Duron, Sherwin Williams, Porter and Glidden on a regular basis so the clerks will all at least know my face. Cool deal. Thanks for the forgiveness also!

·
Registered
8,606 Posts
Yup, paint stores are the place to start. Make a little sign with your info and post it on the board. You will get some calls no doubt.

I love that area. I went to college about 45 minutes from Athens and spent a lot of down time there.

·
Deck Designer/Builder
2,430 Posts
Posting flyers (with rip off tabs with your phone number on them) in local grocery stores is a good, inexpensive way to advertise your services too.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for the welcome

Thanks for the welcome. I do love living in the area, Nathan.