Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I Have a current opening 4'8", interior passthrough going from 9' ceiling kitchen into two story family room, and want to increase the size 4 more feet for a total of 8'8"( two feet on each side without support). Currently, there is a 2x10 header and I am thinking that I may be able to get by with 12's. My idea is to finish off with eyebrow arches opening both rooms up a bit. Size sufficient? Also, I had seen a trick where a master carpenter tore-out an opening to size; leaving the studs. He then cut the studs on one side and placed one half of the header. After securing, he went and cut the other side, placed in that header, then tacked the two together. Anyone tried this? I am not in the mood for jacks nor temp wall as kids are abundant. I am an experienced carpenter but am not an engineer. I have checked references and believe it can be done. THANKS in advance for all replies and lets hope that 2010 is a good year for all of us!!!!!

·
Registered
6,102 Posts
The lumber yard where I get my glue lams from can calculate the loads and tell me what size glue lam I need. Try and find similar in your area.

I would A frame support, take out the existing, and install the new.

You will need continuous support to footings for the posts under the new beam.

If you check your building code book, it should tell you what size lintle you need.

·
Registered
492 Posts
Unless you can calculate the wind, snow, and combination dead/live loads you will need an engineer.

·
Registered
6,102 Posts
I've got 40yrs into the trade, have my journeymans' ticket - C of Q. I am still learning after all these years. My ego won't allow me to call myself a master carpenter.

Maybe I am, maybe not, I would think if in the eyes of your peers you are then they would be the judge of that.