Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
I recently looked at a job (remodel) in which the HVAC Contractor installed a new Central Heat & Air system. Instead of one single large return, he installed about 8 small returns, one for each room. Am I wrong or does this guy need his head examined?

While I have a basic understanding of HVAC, I am not experienced enough to ascertain the potential problems this installation may cause (other than having to find a whole bunch of small return filters) if it is not replaced/reworked. I have no idea who these follks hired for the HVAC work, licensed/unlicensed, or whatever. I have already suggested that the work will have to be redone correctly to the owners.

datajam

·
Jeff
1,485 Posts
I was always under the impression the building will heat/cool more evenly with better return air placement. If you've got a bedroom door closed with 1/2' carpet clearance underneath how are you gonna push air into that room without pulling some out first? Especially in this day and age of sound proofing every room of a house. Think about your exhuast fan in your bathroom you go in take a shower lock the door it doesnt seem to do anything, you get out and crack the door an inch so it can pull air and the rooms cleared in 30 secs.

·
Registered
238 Posts
You shouldn't have to have a filter for each return? I have returns in each bedroom of my house. But, they are common, between the joining rooms.

·
Sean
5,533 Posts
As I recall that is the best system, but most business won't bring it up due to the cost and added hassle. All the returns come back to a central trunk & you put an inline filter in that duct before it enters the AC Unit.

Now what would be cool is to have one set up high, one low & be able to switch over - During summer AC is blow in via the lower set of ducts, return air via the upper set & vice versa during the winter months

·
Pro
670 Posts