Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm building a house and am working on installing in the electrical. I have a large deck with lots of led lighting and want to hardwire the low voltage transformer to a gfci circuit breaker. All the low voltage transformers I see online have a cord with a three prong plug. Is there's a line of transformers that are made to be hardwired into the house? Failing that, is it acceptable to replace the plug wire with Romex inside the wall? I'm guessing it's not.

Any info or suggestions would be appreciated.

Steve

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Builder contractor. I have a technical background in electricity and electronics and a degree in aerospace engineering. Among other things, I worked as a system engineer for the navy overseeing the custom installation of weapon systems on a test ship. I dealt with everything from electrical wiring to ventilation to plumbing. I wired my last house from the weathehead to the outlets with no hits from the inspector. I removed a load bearing wall and supported the existing ceiling/trusses with a concealed beam in the ceiling. I also plumbed the house with copper from the meter throughout the house. I calculated the runs and re-plumbed the house for natural gas as well, ensuring all outlets had adequate flow. I drew all my own plans for the remodel and pulled permits for everything. I'm facile enough in most building trades though I'm far from being a contractor. But I'm quite confident in my ability to wire things correctly. I just need to know what's acceptable.

Steve

·
Registered
175 Posts
Cut the male end off of a GFCI three way cord, wire it to you panel box? pull trough conduit(s)

You want your transformer as close to the load as possible as the voltage drops, LINE LOSSES increase , Center of mass( load) demand, MAYBE even TWO transformers to keep runs short??