Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering what everyones opinion on waterproofing tiled shower walls (w/ acrylic pan) was. I was planning on using hardibacker w/Kerdi but it seems that denseshield would save me some prepwork. Is it as effective? I am a framing carpenter with a modest background doing tile work so would also like to know if installing Schluters kerdi-shower kit would be beyond my skills? I've done fairly simple tile jobs in the past - foyers, small bathroom floors, backsplash so I'm somewhat familiar with tile but not particularly familiar with mosaic or schluter products. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
16,403 Posts
Just wondering what everyones opinion on waterproofing tiled shower walls (w/ acrylic pan) was. I was planning on using hardibacker w/Kerdi but it seems that denseshield would save me some prepwork. Is it as effective? I am a framing carpenter with a modest background doing tile work so would also like to know if installing Schluters kerdi-shower kit would be beyond my skills? I've done fairly simple tile jobs in the past - foyers, small bathroom floors, backsplash so I'm somewhat familiar with tile but not particularly familiar with mosaic or schluter products. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

If you can lay tile you can install kerdi. My 10 year old nephew could install the stuff so don't be to worried about it. Just make sure you follow their instructions fully. I tried denseshield just the once and it was a nice product to use. Cant say it was any different to install than a cement board product but either are more than fine for what your doing. If it was a wet room shower i would say def go with kerdi.

·
The Deck Guy
3,126 Posts
You don't need to use Hardi if you use Kerdi. It goes right over regular drywall and that's actually what's recommended.