Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
668 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering how you guys hang the top wall sheet? We 2 manned it with one guy on stilts,one cutting and carrying. The house took just over 270 sheets with 2 vaults and a bonus room. It took us 4 guys almost 3 days.

How much more would coallated screws run on this house and what could a guy expect in time savings?

I am not a hanger by trade but work is slow and now are doing more of it. Any tips very appreciated;) thanks

·
Registered
6,102 Posts
For starters, stilts are illegal here. But my boarders use 2 benches made from a 2x10 with 2x4 legs. 2x4 bracing. Make these to suit the height you need. They cut a slot in the middle for their hand for easy moving about.

I think theirs are about 16" high, mostly for 10' ceiling work.

·
Balding quickly
954 Posts
I just cut and run them while 2 guys screw off, one lower screws one higher screws. I think the collated screws arent worth it unless you are paying a partner or someone alot to screw off. It costs like 180 bucks more for the screws for that house collated. It saves sometime, but if you use collated on a 9ft you also have to get something to stand on everytime you miss or leave a clicker. 270 in 3 days wouldnt be bad with one hanger one cheaper screwer and a good cutter on a house with some vaults and more difficult stuff, something you would probably get a higher price on. 4 is an unbalanced number.

·
Registered
322 Posts
If your hanging 9ft and you don't have one guy on stilts,,, well the mexicans are gonna take your job,,, ya know, its the 50 cent an hour thing and all.

·
Registered
4,662 Posts
9' we would hang all the walls off the floor and then go back and screw off high stuff from benches. 10', we hang top sheets with ceiling. Good stilt guy can screw off all high stuff at one time. Good luck!

·
Registered
87 Posts