Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty new to this estimates/sales thing but realize that it is vital to my survival. I am always interested as to why I don't get some jobs, simply so that I can get better at estimating. Then something like this comes along....
Ran into an old aquaintence/buddy at the gym. Not a good friend but a nice guy, always thought of him as a cool dude. So I tell him that I am doing some contracting and he says that he has some small jobs, he is really busy since he went back to school, would I be interested? I set up a time to have a look and it is all pretty basic stuff, some trim, patching walls, painting, etc. so I tell him I will get back regarding a price. He wants to buy all material so I estimate on a T&M platform with a capped price with the understanding that if I complete the job early, he only pays me for my time.
He initially balks at my hourly wage, asks me if I can work with him on the price. I say sure, let me pinpoint your priorities and see if I can get a better price. No dice...its a small job so the margins are really tight. I just can't find any more wiggle room. So I meet with him again and after bantering back and forth I finally state what I should have said during our first meeting, "How much were you wanting to spend?"

Here is the funny part.....it was thisclose to my original price! So I go home and send him another estimate. This one has me working for 2 more days doing the exact same jobs.
I start work on Tuesday.
Guess he thought my price was too high for 3 days of work but just right for 5 days of work. I may keep some work for that 4th day, just so he really thinks he is getting a good deal!