Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Framing Contractor
427 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Installed 4 rolls of Grace Ice shield with rip cord yesterday to dry in an addition I framed for a GC, what a pain! My company specializes in framing however we take on 5-10 roofs per year, mostly on the houses and additions we frame, so I have lots of experience installing GAF, Certainteed, and IKO's ice and water shield products. The Grace we were using had the RipCord built in-what is this good for? Paper backing kept tearing when peeling it off, much prefer the plastic release on the cheaper products. Worst of all, the Grace seemed to want to curl back on itself at the edges where it has a sticky sealant, creating a bump on an otherwise flat roof. Won't be buying this stuff again, especially at nearly twice the cost!

·
Registered
534 Posts
Grace can be a real pain, but I haven't found another product as good. It sticks to itself like ----- to a wet blanket. Sucks when the sun is pounding on it. Way too expensive. For low risk roofs the cheaper stuff is great, but if you have problem areas and lower slopes, Id spend the extra. Cheap insurance paid for by the homeowner. The ripcord is handy for doing valleys at times, that's about all we use it for. Occasionally if the shingles wont be going on soon, we will grace from the top down using the rip cord to leave the paper on the lower half until the row below it goes on.

·
Framing Contractor
427 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Morning Wood said:
Thank god Grace has a ripcord or I wouldn't be able to use the stuff. Ripcord is great for flashing sidewalls.
Right, no doubt it needs to be split to install easier, but all other brands of regular IW come with a split plastic backing. Its just another step and waste of time in my opinion.

·
Registered
747 Posts
When its hot out Ill cut the live edge off. Grace in the summer usually leads to someone having a fit.

·