Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I'm new to Contractor talk and this is my first post here. The past week I was contacted by a Glidden rep to try their new Ultra Hide 220 product line. From what I was told it sounds like a nice product and the price is even better compared to what I was paying for ProMar 200. Has anyone one on here tried the Ultra Hide 220 yet? If so what was your impression of it?

·
Registered
Remodel
29,663 Posts
Decent paint for rolling, haven't sprayed it. Covering test with an off-white over pink didn't hide it - no big surprise.

I use a lot of eggshell, and won't use any of the lower end Glidden products in this sheen, and have also noticed some of their paints staying a little sticky for a long time.

Ultrahide seems OK, but I haven't used enough to see if I'd run into problems with it being sticky.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I finally got around to trying it. My local rep gave me a free gallon to try. For me the coverage good, every bit as good as Pro Mar 200, I would rate the hide better the Pro Mar. Now I didn't paint over pink but I painted a medium blue wall to a slate grey. The first coat gave me about 90% coverage. The second coat covered the few thin spots and gave it the correct sheen. I'll have to give it few more jobs before I can say this is my new goto paint for customers that don't request the paint brand, but so far so good. For under $16.00 a gallon you can't beat it in my opinion.

Also, no problem here with dry time or stickiness. I painted a small bedroom and by the time I finished the first coat it was dry to the touch where I had started. I'll report back after a few more jobs.

·
Registered
3,444 Posts