Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
hack of all trades
1,144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Apologies in advance, this is kind of an ignorant question... I've never worked with glass block before. I'm adding two simple "windows" in a newly built exterior wall. Is it practical to make your own mortar mix? I have lime, Portland, and sand. Obviously not white, but this is for my own place, not a customer, so I'm not sure that I mind grey. All I'm installing are two vertical lines of 6 blocks, 8x8s. Can I build a wood frame or is there a metal track that's more preferable?

·
hack of all trades
1,144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah I wasn't imagining that mortar wasn't going to fit in, but I definitely like the look of mortared block better than those pointed with a silicone or other tube product. Should be pretty easy to frame it out using the PVC track. Just wanted to make sure I'm not buying some DIY track accessories that were totally unnecessary.

·
hack of all trades
1,144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I've seen a few types of stainless rebar but I assume that's not needed in single block to block joints only 1 wide

·
Registered
2,745 Posts
If there is any chance the glass block will be bumped during their lifetimes, I'd band them with some galvanised wire.

Some block are availiable with a factory white coating that increases light transmittal when laid in non white mortars.

I'd follow Tscar advice and use the plastic channel and lay up the glass block and wrap with the channel mold in a jig an eight inch smaller then the opening, let it set up a couple of days then slide the whole block sash in your R.O. Installing the block in the channel mounted in the opening would be rather difficult.

·
hack of all trades
1,144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
mikeswoods said: