Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Y'all!

I'm new here ;-)

We build fences but were approached by an extremely well-known, regional business to build them a huge pergola in their parking lot. It could catapult our biz 10-fold and I really don't want to pass it up. But...I have zero knowledge of building pergolas and they want the 'roof' size to be 23'x48'.

All the googling I've done proves for this size to 110% custom. I think it should be doable, but I have no idea the max beam spans, sizes, etc. to be able to withstand the load and the high winds we get in our area.

Thanks for any help you can give!

·
Registered
199 Posts
Sounds like something that will someday have lots of people under it. Huge liability if not done absolutely correctly. Permits and inspections a no brainer. If it were me, I would have an architect draw up plans first so you know what you'll be building and can price it accordingly. I don't touch any structural job without at least consulting an engineer. Money well spent.

·
Registered
397 Posts
No offense dirtbike ... but I wonder if they approached you because you do fences and they think you will be cheaper than a regular contractor. It could be a good opening for you to expand your repertoire, but as others have pointed out its a big enough structure to require plans and permits.

·
Goin' Down in Flames....
Highwayman
5,439 Posts
How skilled are you with the actual building of something like this?

Concrete footings, framing, roofing, steel hardware, etc?

It will be a lot different than a fence for sure.

Does your state license allow you to build it?

Not trying to discourage you from taking the project, but tackling a project that you don’t know how to do can lose you a lot of money very fast.

·
Registered
2,420 Posts
Like others have said.

Ask them for the plans so you can bid it properly.