Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am registered to take my test for residential light construction in December. I have 25 years construction experience in the Atlanta area. There are an abundance of companies offering seminars and study material to prep for the test. Can anyone give me any practical advice on the best way to prepare since these services are not cheap, and I don't want to guess wrong here. Thanks.

·
David
50 Posts
The class offered by American Contractors Exam Services was good. I passed the General Contractor exam in June 2008, before they could get feedback about the questions that might be on the exam. They probably have a better idea of the questions now.

We highlighted our books, which was very helpful during the exam. There were many people that needed help with basic construction math and estimating. This took up too much time.

Advice? Highlight and tab your books as instructed. Don't spend time memorizing information. Almost everything is found in the books. Understand where to find the information quickly.

Good Luck!

·
David
50 Posts
The books are +/- $750. The class is $490.00. Check out the Georgia section of examprep.org. Their website does a good job summarizing the costs and licensing requirements.

You may take the 2-day class more than once prior to the test. I sat through it twice. The first time, I was busy taking notes and highlighting my books. The second time I focused on was was being presented and finding information in my books.

Good Luck.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·