Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
377 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know times are hard. we are all feeling it.
I am a carpentry/drywall contractor. Last year I bid a job for a GC that I knew pretty well. He won the job, and made me take a haircut to do it, I agreed, reluctantly. After all, he won the job with my numbers. As the job progressed he 'took back ' certain things from my contract and had his own guys do it. Now the job is complete, and there were certain things I thought were being eliminated from the project, because they never proceeded on them. Now he is asking me for a credit on these things. No problem. However, I passed by the site, and noticed he had one of his guys doing the work. I broke even on this job. I did the hard part and just got by, and i feel like he's screwing me out of gravy stuff that was in my contract. worse yet, he's being greedy and increasing HIS profit. screw the subs. He admitted to me without realizing that he's 'making money on the job' so why screw the subs?

·
Registered
233 Posts
. I broke even on this job. I did the hard part and just got by... he's screwing me out of gravy stuff that was in my contract... He admitted to me without realizing that he's 'making money on the job' so why screw the subs?
If it walks like a duck...

He used you to price out the gravy and took from you it and Your mistake was not charging him a cancellation fee for the cancelled items.

At least you broke even. Learn from the experience and move on. Next time you come across this fella you'll know what toexpect.

·
General Contractor
3,444 Posts
me on the DYI Forum said:
Yes, I too think you are being taken. Whether ethics enter into it or not, (They don't for most people), contractors have to be thick skinned and professional enough to just suck it up and keep on going.