Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a ten year Carpenter, and have tackled alot of different projects outside of my trade. So I guess you can say I am sorta handy. But I never have done anything with heating and cooling. So tell me this...... Is prevenetive maitenance on my own furnace something I could tackle myself? Or should I leave it to the pros? I have a Carrier weathermaster 8000. When it kicks on, it kicks on and off 3-4 times before it really gets going. And tonight it just stopped working all together. I went into my crawl space to take a peek, not knowing what I was looking for, I put the cover back on, and flipped the main switch back on. And sure enough it started working again. So I am guessing it has never has been cleaned, and that is all it needs. Is it a hard thing to do, or should I pick up my phone? Thanks

·
Registered
21 Posts
RMiller said:
I am a ten year Carpenter, and have tackled alot of different projects outside of my trade. So I guess you can say I am sorta handy. But I never have done anything with heating and cooling. So tell me this...... Is prevenetive maitenance on my own furnace something I could tackle myself? Or should I leave it to the pros? I have a Carrier weathermaster 8000. When it kicks on, it kicks on and off 3-4 times before it really gets going. And tonight it just stopped working all together. I went into my crawl space to take a peek, not knowing what I was looking for, I put the cover back on, and flipped the main switch back on. And sure enough it started working again. So I am guessing it has never has been cleaned, and that is all it needs. Is it a hard thing to do, or should I pick up my phone? Thanks

pick up the phone

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
A little research will get you far. Furnace is 100%! Without a phone!! Thanks for all the input.

·
Registered
5 Posts
furnace maintenance