Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a professional but not in the concrete business. I do need some advice please. I have a 24x24 garage that I need to put a 32 to 36 inch frost wall on one side asap. The garage slab is floating with no footing at 4 inch thick. Im unsure if the slab can hold 4 course of block or a poured wall? The exterior will be backfill with 24 to 28 inches of soil. It is in northern wi so I do have snow load. I'm not looking for a easy way but the right way that will last. Any advice would be great. Thanks

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Would it be alright to dig under one side and put a footing under the slab on one side to support the weight of block or preferably a poured wall? I can not tear down the whole garage.

·
Registered
909 Posts
I'm confused. A frost wall goes below the slab, a retaining wall goes above the slab. Sounds like you need a retaining wall. Any chance you have enough room to fit a retaining wall behind the garage, and independent of the garage slab all together?

·
Love me some Concrete
1,834 Posts
IMO, you can not put the wall on top of the pad, why not cut the pad back 8", dig and then pour a footing. Then put the wall on that.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I thought about that but wouldn't I have troubles if the one wall is stationary and the rest is on a floating slab?

·
Registered
8,139 Posts
You can dig under or cut it out and dig that way. Depends on whats above the section, garage doors only? Make sure it is properly braced if needed. Could do 4' sections skipping 8 feet then 4' sections.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I understand but how deep should I go with the footing? I live in northern wi. I already build a temp wall to support the roof so I can do it all at once. And do I connect the slab to wall with like rebar where they meet?

·