Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. First post here. I'm a property manager who buys income properties nobody else wants, fixes them up, and tries to put a little food on the table in the process.

Anyhow, spotted frost in an attic.

DETAILS: Affected area is above a bathroom. Outside this bathroom there is no soffit (rest of house has soffits, but this room is bumped out.)

At this point I am sealing recessed cans etc but am still concerned that the attic space above the bathroom has little to no air flow along the decking because of the lack of soffits. Worth noting that the rest of the soffited house has no frost.

QUESTION: Is it possible to generate air flow along the affected decking where there are no soffits?

SPRAY FOAM: What if I spray foamed the un-soffited rafters & decking? Total of maybe 8 rafters My thinking is that doing so would prevent the air in that section from condensing onto the "unventilated" decking. This air would not be any less stagnant, but at least it wouldn't condense onto the cold decking and just slowly move across foamed rafters, over to ventilated decking where there is proper soffit and box ventilation.

BOX VENTS DOWN LOW: What about putting box vents down low on the roof in that section? Would they allow air movement in any way similar to soffit-to-vent flow?

Thanks in advance for any input.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Is there a shower in the bathroom? Fart Fan? Is the attic above the bathroom isolated from the rest of the attic or is it part of the same? Insulation on top of the lid of the bathroom?

Soffit has nothing to do with it

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes shower, fan. Attic not isolated. Is insulated & vapour b. There's no question that the recessed lighting cans and fan need sealing.

The attic hatch is also in line with the frost area. Spotted a 1" gap where hatch is framed & foamed it.