Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first post with this forum. Let's see how it goes. I am a general contractor installing a new roof on my clients house. While inspecting existing framing and sheathing in the attic like I always do... I noticed one rafter missing. There is a framed out flu pipe in the center of the bay near the ridge. Someone attempted to add 32 inch cats every six feet or so. I would like to add more cats instead of demoing existing cats and adding two twenty foot rafters which is never fun doing as an after thought. My question is if I add a cat every 16 inches... Would that be equal to having a rafter installed. Is it to over kill? Maybe every four feet. There is no live load and the roof sheathing is half inch.

·
Registered
2,517 Posts
I guess I'm a bit ignorant but curious.I've been in the business 40 years and don't know what you are referring to as a cat.Can you explain it to me.Is that a Jersey term?Maybe a N Eastern thing.
I'm in IL.Always happy to learn something.

·
Registered
2,517 Posts
I thought that was probably what you referring to.Never heard it called cats.In regard to you question I don't see how any form of bracing will take care of the lack of a rafter.How big is the flue pipe that they had to remove a rafter?

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I thought this site was about helping each other out. It seems like it's more like a mud slinging competition!

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Sorry. I didn't see you response. The fact of the matter is... I would have to remove sheathing or soffit to slide a rafter in. If it's really necessary I guess I will. I would think bracing every 16 would be good.

·
Registered
2,517 Posts
I thought this site was about helping each other out. It seems like it's more like a mud slinging competition!