Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello,
I'm thinking about enclosing the upper level of my garage to take advantage of about 1000 sq/ft of space that was wasted as an inherant result of the topography of my lot.

As illustrated in the attached pix, I have an elevated foundation. I want to frame a subfloor in my garage and enclose the upper level. This will not only take advantage of much wasted space, but help with hanging the garage door openers that, as you can see, are in a rediculous configuration now and I suspect I will start seeing problems caused by the lateral movement of the hangers within a year (no matter how much angle iron they use to tie them).

I'm an above average DIY'er that has done everything from cabinets to woodfloors and tile floors. I've build a 12'x16' building framed on 16" centers on a cinderblock foundation. I worked as a plumbers helper for about 5 years while in college. I know my way around the tool bag.

The Dimensions of the garage are 20.5' W x 30' L. I plan to cut down and hang 2"X12'X22' joists the width of the garage at 16" centers directly at the level of the foundation. This make the floor level the same as the adjacent office and will allow me to make access to the new room from the office by cutting a doorway in the sheetrock directly above the foundation (shown in pix).

I think the first step would be to attached the outer frame of the subfloor the four walls around the room by cutting out the sheetrock with a laser level and exposing the studs to secure the 2X12 outer frame too. I'm not sure how to fasten the 2X12 to the concrete foundtation. Also, once I get the outer frame hung, would I use floor joists hangers to hang the 2"x12"x22's?