Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I am new to the commercial side, mostly residential and trim work for the past 4 years. I was approached by a family member to build out his office. I was curious how to go about framing a wall inside an office with a drop ceiling, and preferable not harming the ceiling tiles or tracks so in the even the wall needs to be removed nothing needs replacing. I would use the aluminum studs and tracks, but how does it get anchored to the ceiling?

Any and all help and advice is much appreciated.

·
Registered
534 Posts
Fasten the track to the ceiling with the same screws as you use for the steel stud and track. If you are drywalling the walls, I would use j trim on the top or d 200 half bead. This gives the top edge of the drywall a finished look.

·
Contractor of the Month
26,075 Posts
Screw into the lateral bars not the main ones (or whatever the heck they are called) that way you can replace the ones with holes in them later.

·
I'm a Mac
5,487 Posts
Use commercial partitions, this is their purpose, they are considered furniture. No damage to floors or ceiling, it all clips together.

Easily expandable, office can get changed around literally in one day when needed.

·
Registered
136 Posts
I do mostly commercial and what the first two posters said is spot on. I generally don't use j molding I don't like look just mud and tape the too it's not hard to change tile and like the other poster said try to screw to the connectors not the main with pan head self tappers. Even if you screw into the main when you remove the screw it's not very noticeable and not impossible to cover up or change the main.

·
Registered
98 Posts