Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a framing contractor, but I have agreed to help with a cinderblock garage project. The footing got poured at sunset on friday night, and come monday the cement is 3 inches out of level (40 ft X 30 ft) from one corner to the other. Its a 12 in X 24 in footing, with 10 inch block wall to be built on top. How should the footing be made level? Ready-mix three inches thick? Mega-thick mortar bed? If we pour more ready-mix in to level it out, does it have to be full width, or will 10-12 inches wide do it? Any help greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
6,858 Posts
Wow!! THREE DAMN INCHES!! Can't say I know the best fix, - - but to think I get pissed of if it's out more than a 1/2" over that distance.

Myself, - - rather than have some damn 'patch', - - I think I would go ahead and 'dry-lay' 30' (or whatever) worth of blocks on their sides with a 'mortar-space' in between and snap a chalk line from 0" to 3", - - and then break out the mask, glasses, ear protection, and the cut-off saw.

·
Registered
7,079 Posts
Three inches! :eek: I know it sounds like preaching , but I never would do a footing without shooting elevations. I would just repour another footing on top.

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
I'd call the contractor back, it's not your problem.

·
Registered
7,079 Posts
Tom R said:
What, - - nobody likes my 'cave-man' method?? :cheesygri
If I were 20 years younger...I don't like to get my clothes all dusty anymore :cheesygri